Singapore announced as hosts of AFF Suzuki Cup

The ASEAN Football Federation has announced that Singapore will host the upcoming AFF Suzuki Cup, which will be held Dec. 5, 2021 to Jan. 1, 2022. Suhaimi Abdullah/Getty Images

The ASEAN Football Federation (AFF) have confirmed that Singapore has been chosen as the host country for the AFF Suzuki Cup 2020.

The 13th edition of the regional showpiece is slated to be held from Dec. 5, 2021, to Jan. 1, 2022, after getting postponed twice from its original schedule in 2020 because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

A total of ten nations from Southeast Asia will feature across two groups that will be played out in a round-robin format.

- Vietnam remain AFF favourites but rivals set sights on challenging

Five-time champions Thailand are in Group A alongside Myanmar, Philippines and hosts Singapore. They will also be joined by either Timor-Leste or Brunei Darussalam who will play each other in the qualifier.

Group B, meanwhile, will feature defending champions Vietnam, Malaysia, Indonesia, Cambodia and Laos.

The top two teams from each group will progress to the semifinals. The final, expected to be a two-legged affair, is scheduled to be held on Dec. 29 and Jan. 1.

This will be the first time Singapore will be hosting the AFF Championship since 2014 when the city-state co-hosted the event with Vietnam.