Current and all-time UFC champions

Francis Ngannou dethroned Stipe Miocic at UFC 260 in his second shot at the heavyweight champion. Chris Unger/Zuffa LLC

The UFC began in 1993 with fighters of all sizes competing against each other. Four years later, UFC 12 introduced weight classes: heavyweight, for fighters 200 pounds and above, and lightweight, for those 199 pounds and under. That night in Dothan, Alabama, Mark Coleman needed less than three minutes to defeat Dan Severn by a neck crank to becomes the promotion's first heavyweight champion -- its first champion, period.

Today, there 12 weight divisions in the UFC -- eight for men, four for women. Below are the current UFC champions in each weight division.

Click here for the current champions in all of the major fight promotions: Bellator MMA, One Championship, PFL, Rizin and Invicta FC, in addition to the UFC.

All-time UFC champions by division:
Heavyweight | Light heavyweight
Middleweight | Welterweight
Lightweight | Men's featherweight
Men's bantamweight | Men's flyweight
Women's featherweight
Women's bantamweight
Women's flyweight

Heavyweight (Up to 265 pounds)

Francis Ngannou
Won title: March 27, 2021
Outcome: KO2 over Stipe Miocic (UFC 260)
Defenses: 1

Light heavyweight (205)

Jiri Prochazka
Won title: June 11, 2022
Outcome: Sub5 over Glover Teixeira (UFC 275)
Defenses: 0

Middleweight (185)

Israel Adesanya
Won title: Oct. 6, 2019
Outcome: TKO2 over Robert Whittaker (UFC 243)
Defenses: 4

Welterweight (170)

Leon Edwards
Won title: Aug. 20, 2022
Outcome: KO5 over Kamaru Usman (UFC 278)
Defenses: 0

Lightweight (155)

Title is vacant

Men's featherweight (145)

Alexander Volkanovski
Won title: Dec. 14, 2019
Outcome: UD over Max Holloway (UFC 245)
Defenses: 3

Men's bantamweight (135)

Aljamain Sterling
Won title: March 6, 2021
Outcome: DQ4 over Petr Yan (UFC 259)
Defenses: 1

Men's flyweight (125)

Deiveson Figueiredo
Won title: Jan. 22, 2022
Outcome: UD over Brandon Moreno (UFC 270)
Defenses: 0

(Moreno defeated Kai Kara-France on July 30 to become interim champion.)

Women's featherweight (145)

Amanda Nunes
Won title: Dec. 29, 2018
Outcome: TKO1 over Cris Cyborg (UFC 232)
Defenses: 2

Women's bantamweight (135)

Amanda Nunes
Won title: July 30, 2022
Outcome: UD over Julianna Peña (UFC 277)
Defenses: 0

Women's flyweight (125)

Valentina Shevchenko
Won title: Dec. 8, 2018
Outcome: UD over Joanna Jedrzejczyk (UFC 231)
Defenses: 7

Strawweight (115)

Carla Esparza
Won title: May 7, 2022
Outcome: SD over Rose Namajunas (UFC 274)
Defenses: 0